Contact Us

Need Help ? Call us : +91-9829-248-899

Contact Our Travel Experts


Bihar with its enormous geological size is the twelfth biggest state in India. Situated in the eastern part of the nation, Bihar is amongst the quickest developing state in the term of manpower. Prior, amid the old time, it was the vital centre point of learning, culture and power. Bihar has additionally seen the brilliant time of Indian history. It is likewise the antiquated place of Buddha in the traditional India. The land of Bihar has given birth to many great scholars and the glimpse of their sacrifice, the light of their insight and the power of their shrewdness can still be feel in its fertile soil.

Capital : Patna
Area Rank :
Official language :
Population Rank :
Literacy :
Bordered By :
Jharkhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal

UNESCO World Heritage Site in Bihar:

The Mahabodhi Temple Complex with an area of about 4.8 hectares and 55 m in height is one of the four sacred places identified with the life of Buddha. The temple complex houses the holy Bodhi Tree which is the site under which Buddha accomplished enlightenment and is adulated as Pipal Tree in the other part of India. It is trusted that this tree is the relative of the first tree and is profoundly revered by the Buddhists. Clsoe to Bodhi Tree, there is Vajrasana (the Diamond Throne) made of cleaned polished sandstone which was introduced by Emperor Ashoka.

Location: Bodhgaya, Bihar, India

Built in: 3rd century BC, 5th and 6th century AD and 19th century

Declared UNESCO World Heritage Site in: June 27, 2002

Inside the Temple complex, there are seven other important sites where Buddha is believed to be meditated after the attainment of Enlightenment.

The sacred Bodhi tree: Under this hallowed Bodhi Tree on the full moon day of Vaisakh in the month of may, it is said that Siddhartha Gautama meditated and accomplished Enlightenment. The present tree is most likely the fifth progression of the first tree which was before devastated several times by man-made hopelessness and natural catastrophes.

Vajrasana: Vajrasana, likewise called as Diamond Throne, is the seat of Buddha’s Enlightenment which was built by Emperor Ashoka in the mid third century. The seat is made up of Red sandstone and has its own significance. Fa-Hien notice that all the past Buddhas accomplished Enlightenment here and the future Buddhas too will achieve the enlightenment on this same site.

Animesha Lochana Chaitya: It is the site where Buddha in standing stance looking at the Bodhi spent his second week of meditation with still eyes for an entire one week.

Cankamana: Cankamana or the cloister walk, is the site where Buddha spent his third week of meditation in honing the walking meditation. The spot where the Buddha kept his feet when walking is marked with lotus blossom and is exceptionally worshipped by the Buddhists.

Ratanaghara: Ratnagiri or the Jewel House is thought to be the spot where Buddha spent his entire fourth week in meditation. Buddha meditated here pondering the Patthana or the Law of Dependent Origination. Amid that period, a beam of six hues was believed to be radiated from his body. On the premise of these hues Buddhist has outlined their flag.

Need Help?

We would be more than happy to help you. Our team is at your service 24/7.

Follow Us on

Get Updates & More

    Top Destination

    © 2024 . Four Wheel Drive India Pvt. Ltd. . Designed and Developed by Tulipshree Infotech